''The Suspect'' by L. R. Wright (Viking Penguin) has been named the best novel of 1985 by the Mystery Writers of America.
The award for best critical/ biographical work went to ''John Le Carre'' by Peter Lewis (Frederick Ungar). Ed McBain received the grand master award for lifetime achievement
Among other winners of the organization's Edgar Allan Poe Awards, presented at the Sheraton Centre in New York on Friday, were ''When the Bough Breaks'' by Jonathan Kellerman (Atheneum), best first novel; ''Pigs Get Fat'' by Warren Murphy (NAL), best paperback original; ''Savage Grace'' by Natalie Robins and Steven M. L. Aronson (William Morrow), best fact crime, and ''The Sandman's Eyes'' by Patricia Windsor (Delacorte), best juvenile novel.